jump to navigation

stuffed stuff: master chief June 25, 2009

Posted by AnnaTheRed in stuffed stuff.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

EDIT: I just want to make something clear before it gets too crazy.

Unfortunately, the patterns and plush Master Chief are not for sale. =<

I work for a post-production company, and I’ve made prototypes of plush of anime characters to be mass-produced legally before, and I am so very aware of copyright law. Making profits from the products of copyrighted characters without any legal contract can cause a lot of trouble. I can’t give away the patterns either, since I cannot stop anyone else from making profits with them. Also I spent a very long time making the base body patterns, so I can’t sell them or give them away either.

You just have to be a very good friend of mine to adopt a plush Master Chief. 😀

For those who want a plush Master Chief sooooo bad… You can probably find similar base body patterns in a doll book or online. You just have to make the patterns for the costume (?) by looking at images or toys of Master Chief. Like I mentioned, it’s a tedious work, but not impossible to do. Good luck!!

I’m too tired to write anything clever to begin this post, so I’m just gonna say… Yay! I finished! (And this time, I took a LOT of pictures while making it.)

Master Chief from Halo
Created and stuffed: June 2009

(*The photos of “making of Master Chief” were taken by me. That’s why they are crappy. :P)

My friend Lupos is turning 29 on June 26th, but we decided to have his birthday party early on the 24th. Lupos also works in the online card game “Alteil” division at the company I work at. He’s a programmer/super tech-savvy/customer support/repairman, etc…Yep, he’s the guy every company wishes they had. He’s also, like many of my friends are, a gamer. Not just a gamer, but a hardcore gamer. Besides working for Alteil, he also writes articles and reviews for an online game news/review site, SPOnG. And like any boy gamer, when he grows up, he wants to be Master Chief.

Before anyone gets tired of reading, and scrolls down just to see pretty pictures, here’s a blog post by Lupos, the lucky guy who has adopted this snuggly Master Chief..

Master Chief is a fictional character and the main protagonist from the game Halo. Halo is a first-person shooter video game, based on the science fictional events and settings in the Halo Universe. (from wikipedia) Anyone who’s played the game will tell you that Master Chief is the man of awesomeness. Anyway, I searched online, and didn’t find the official Master Chief stuffed toy, so I decided to make him “the one and only” kind of plush. I’ve made Lupos’ girlfriend, Dana, (who also works at the same company) a plush toy of herself on her birthday before. I thought it’d be cute if I made Master Chief the same size as her plush, so they could play together.

"Maid Dana" I made everything from scratch except her shoes, and the weapons on her right hand.

I started the project Sunday afternoon. It was cloudy out, so I didn’t feel too guilty for staying home all day. 🙂 First, I used the same pattern as the Dana doll and made a black base body.

Cut out fabric, ready to be sewn. (oops I had my camera set to "tungsten")

And this is what it looks like after sewing the pieces together.

I don’t usually use the “gluing felt on the body” method when I make plush. Felt isn’t ideal for plush because the surface gets fuzzy, stretches (and doesn’t stretch back), and bulky. But since the costume for Master Chief is very complicated, I just decided to glue felt onto his body for this project.

I have tons of felt, but I didn’t have the color I wanted to use for the final product at the time, so I cut purple felt, pinned it to the body, trimmed it, and pinned it again… I just kept doing it to make cloth pattern for his costume. Using felt to make final patterns is much easier than putting paper on a 3D object to make final patterns.

This purple felt is going to be my pattern. I'll draw lines on it as I look at reference pictures.

Just keep adding pieces...

If I were good at “simplifying complicated stuff”, this could’ve been easier and the final product would’ve looked more polished… I ended up making pretty much all the costume pieces.

This process took… forever. I finished making the patterns for the body on Monday morning, but I still didn’t know exactly how to make the helmet. (I was saving the most difficult part until the very end. I’m smart like that. :P)

I got the right color of felt on Monday. Once I got home, I started cutting up the felt using the pattern, and pinned it to the body. Nothing complicated, just tedious work. By Tuesday morning, almost all the body pieces were pinned on. But I still hadn’t started making the helmet yet.

Chest plate layers

Tuesday night, I started gluing the pieces to the body. I didn’t want to just glue a round piece to bottom of the feet, so I actually sewed and made boots with felt. Then I finally started working on the helmet. I didn’t take pictures of the helmet in process because I spent hours just trimming felt for patterns, and it still didn’t look so good… But I only had several hours left. So I just went ahead and started making the helmet using the half-assed pattern. Somehow I finally finished it! I can’t remember much about how I made the helmet. Seems like I was sleep making. On a serious note. Do not sleep sew with a sewing machine! It’s very dangerous.

I actually had about an hour before I had to leave the house. I thought of making an Energy Sword, which is a weapon from Halo. But then I realized that I probably wasn’t thinking right, so I ignored that. 3 hours of sleep in 48 hours does NOT make you very productive. I always end up doing the same thing when I make plush as a gift for my friends, but as I get older, it gets harder for my body, eyes and brains to keep up.

But the very important thing was that just like the last plush, I managed to finish it! I don’t know but maybe making bento is actually improving my guesstimate on how long it’ll take to make things.

We went to Daisy May’s BBQ in the city (I’ll blog about this place later), and I gave it to Lupos at the dinner. He seemed to enjoy the plush Master Chief (or Plushter Chief?) a lot. Everyone was making the Master Chief pose. Unfortunately, Dana had already packed her Dana doll (our company is moving soon), so we couldn’t make them play with each other this time, but once we move to the new office, I’ll make sure to take pictures of them together. 🙂

I didn’t post all the pictures of Master Chief project on here, so if you want to see more pictures of him, please check them out on my flickr page.

Master Chief set on my flickr
Making of Master Chief set on my flickr

Collections of my stuffed stuff on my flickr

Comments»

1. yoiang - June 25, 2009

haha chibi master chief! really well done

when i play purple is the color i use =)

2. mark - June 25, 2009

very cool!! well done

3. elijah - June 25, 2009

could you make me on

4. elijah - June 25, 2009

and i would send you 20$

Jmanorama - June 26, 2009

I’ll send her whatever she wants to get one of these (For money anyways)!
Anna you did a fantastic job on Master Chief!
You seriously should think about selling some of these!
I would be willing to pay $30 or $40 dollars for one of these guys.
Fantastic!! 😀

5. Andreas - June 26, 2009

…amazing! Wish I had one too!

6. B5D Kritical - June 26, 2009

Hi, this is B5D Kritical Founder of Facilityb5d.com. I just want to say, wow, that is awesome. I’d love one of those for my son. Wish they sold those in stores. I’d definately but one. Nice job!

7. Keith - June 26, 2009

any chance that you would be willing to put in scans of all the template peices?

8. StarsOfCASSiOPEiA - June 28, 2009

Oh WOW. Wow wow wow wow wow. I wish I could make plushies, because just looking at your skill with them makes me jealous.

Amazing job. O.O *drools* (And I don’t even play Halo. XD)

9. BunnyBlue - June 28, 2009

OMG!!! can I add to keith’s request , I’d pay just for the pattern!!

10. Lexy - June 29, 2009

That’s awesome! I want one!

11. DjDATZ - June 29, 2009

Wow. Just amazing. If this was available, I would easily pay $50-$75 for this because of all the hard work you put into it.

Simply, stunning and one of a kind. I wish I had friends like this that could make me something this cool. lol

12. iRoflCopterX - June 29, 2009

That’s just awesome.

13. Sydney - June 29, 2009

now it’s time to do an Elite!

14. Kelilah - June 29, 2009

its SOOOO cute!!!

15. Party-pooper - June 29, 2009

I just want to say that it does sound like a good idea to sell them because of the popularity, but me being a part of a copyright company and just an overall party-pooper, you cannot sell those plushies to all the people requesting them, at least not the Master Chief ones.

It would be braking the copyright that Microsoft now owns for the Master Chief.

You would get sued BIG TIME

(on topic, nice work, I am a huge fan of halo BTW, nice plushie skillz :D)

16. Jeff - June 29, 2009

Are you willing to sell them or the template you created? My nephews, and myself would love one ofthese.

17. Packnight501 - June 30, 2009

I want one!

18. caraboose - June 30, 2009

Ah man I want one!

19. MKmiksaFIN - June 30, 2009

Looks good.

I want one!

20. adam - June 30, 2009

were do you get those plain dolls from so i can give it a go. 🙂

21. Dylan - June 30, 2009

If you’ve read the text it sais that she can’t sell it because of copyrights and stuff. 🙂 We all just have to drool here. ^^

22. b00n heT - June 30, 2009

Phenomenal, just Great
when i first read this on bungie i taught it would have been a nice thing but this is much more than i could had expected.
I’d like to have one too, maybe one day u’ll be able to sell them to us

23. Ari - July 1, 2009

Hey!
That is really but really cool and beautifully well made. I can see how much work you put in it, because as everyone is saying, it is awesome! That would be cool if you putted a tutorial of how to make those. I would like one too! I don’t know if you can read french but : C’est vraiment cool ce que tu fais et j’espere que tu va toujours continuer a faire ca parce que tu a vraiment du talent mais vraiment beaucoup, et je suis une de tes fans!

24. Mark - July 2, 2009

what did u stuff it with?

25. Mark - July 3, 2009

what type of fabric did u use for the base body?

AnnaTheRed - July 3, 2009

Hi Mark,
I used Polyester filling for the inside. For the base body, I don’t know what it’s called, but it feels like it’s mixture of nylon and a bit of lycra.
You can use thin cotton too. The body may be stiffer than the one with nylon/lycra, but it’s probably easier to find base body patterns that use cotton than ones that use stretchy material.

Mark - July 5, 2009

And thanks for replying!

26. Mark - July 5, 2009

cool thanks. the reason i wanted to know was because i was gonna make one

27. Mark - July 7, 2009

anna, i was look at your pictures and i couldn’t really understang how u did the arms to the body

AnnaTheRed - July 10, 2009

Hi Mark,
I started by sewing just the front body and arm pieces together, and then did the same for the back pieces. When the front and back were done I combined them all together. But if you’re having a hard time figuring it out, you can always make an arm separately and sew it onto the body. Good luck!

28. Mark - July 10, 2009

did u do the same for the legs

29. Mark - July 14, 2009

did u just use fabric glue to put the felt on to another layer of felt

30. Mark - July 15, 2009

im so sorry for bothering you so much Anna, but i have one more question because i am almost done. how did you sew the head to the body?

AnnaTheRed - July 16, 2009

Hi Mark,
Sorry I couldn’t answer you previous question. It might be too late, but I used a glue called Magna Tac.
And I just sewed the head to the body by hand. Nothing special. Good luck with your Master Chief! I’d looove to see it when you’re done! 🙂

31. Mark - July 17, 2009

im sorry to say that it turned out great! another thing i forgot to mention is that i did not make a master cheif, i made a recon armor plush. if u can suggjest a way for me to show you, i would be happy to try.

32. Mark - July 17, 2009

o and i used a glue called aleenes tacky glue


Leave a comment