jump to navigation

How to make a Wall-E sandwich December 21, 2008

Posted by AnnaTheRed in how-to (all), how-to - characters (Ghibli, video game, Wall-E).
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

EDIT: Before you read the How to make a Wall-E sandwich…
I’ve discovered that some people posted the entire page of How to make a Wall-E sandwich on their website/blog.
I’m glad that they felt the urge to spread the joy of Wall-E sandwich to others, and I’m sure they didn’t mean any harm, but I spend a long time making & writing this how-to’s with my boyfriend. I don’t have problem anyone blogging about my bento using the pictures, but when you do, please make sure you properly credit it with a link to my site.
I don’t like asking people to remove posts from their blog and I do not want to stop doing this either… Thank you.- Anna

After my Wall-E bento hit the internet, things got a little crazy. Now Wall-E’s view count on my boyfriend’s flickr is more than 85400! Seems like a lot of them have never seen kyaraben before, and I was happy that they got to know about it.
Every time someone leaves a comment like “I want to make this for my kids/husband/wife/boyfriend/girlfriend!”, it makes me glad that I made it. At the same time it makes me want to teach them how, because I think making your loved one happy is what kyaraben is about.
I’ve been wanting to do “how to make Wall-E bento”, but my original Wall-E bento had a lot of Asian ingredients, and I wasn’t sure if everyone could get all those ingredients. (such as seaweed, kamaboko, and konnyaku) So I decided to make Wall-E with a sandwich!
This one is super simple and easy. I’m sure you can add tons of details to it and make it more Wall-E like. But as long as he has the box body, treads and the sad eyes, he’ll be Wall-E enough! (Hopefully…)

[How to make a Wall-E sandwich]
– Four slices of whole wheat bread
– Turkey & mayonnaise (or ham, or peanut butter, whatever you want!)
– American cheese singles
– Blueberry

1. Take the crust off the bread (all four of them) carefully. Do not throw away the crust! You’ll need them later. Also don’t cut the crust with a knife, you need the corner piece of the crust.

The crust doesn't have to be a complete loop. You'll need two corners at the bottom.

2. Cut bread into a square.

3. Spread mayo on bread, put a slice of turkey on top, and put bread on the top. This will be Wall-E’s body.

4. Cut two slice of bread into four triangles. You’ll have total of 8 mini-triangles. 4 triangles will be Wall-E’s treads, and 4 triangles will be Wall-E’s eyes.

5. Make two turkey sandwiches out of four of eight triangles.

These will be Wall-Es wheels

6. Wrap the crust corner around the triangle piece.

These will be Wall-E's treads

7. Cut the two sharp points of the four triangles with a spoon. These will be the eyes.

Looks complicated? See more phots at my flickr page1

8. Make two turkey sandwiches out of #7.

9. Put a piece of crust for the neck, and place his eyes and treads by his body.

10. For his arms, cut crust 1-inch long X 2. Cut cheese into the same size as the crust, and cut it for the stripes.

11. Cut crust to make his hands.

12. Put his hands on the body, and cut a blueberry in half and put it on its eyes.

13. You can finish at #12. But if you want to make Wall-E’s body yellow like the real one, you can put cheese on his body like this one below. (If you’re doing this, you can probably use normal white bread too)

It’s four slices of bread, so it’s not much, but I think kids can eat it without being too full.
For his eyes, you can use a glass or something round to take the sharp points of the triangles, but I used a spoon, so anyone (even kids) could do this without worry about breaking anything.

I kept all crust that I didn’t use. I think I’m gonna make bread pudding with them. Sandwich AND desert! Oh Wall-E, you’re so full of yumminess. =P

You can see more pictures of “How to make Wall-E sandwich” on my flickr page.
And if you have any questions about any of my how-to’s, please feel free to leave a comment or email me!

Comments»

1. Monica - December 22, 2008

Thanks for this! I was inspired to make Wall-E from your last bento for my 4yr old, but couldn’t quite figure out how to “westernize” it for her. We did try quail eggs for the first time because of it, though. I’ve been bentoing about 3 years, and always wanted to do a kyraben, but hubby wouldn’t quite go for it. I’ve been afraid of doing all the work for my preschooler only to throw her lunchbox in the big basket in the AM and open up a mess at lunch. She’d go for a sandwich though, and I think it’s thick enough to not shift in her bento box.

2. Margo - December 22, 2008

If I made this, I could never eat it. I would just sit there and stare at it – SO ADORABLE.

3. R W O - December 22, 2008

oh god ! That’s so delicious but I can’t eat that sweet eyes :))

4. Phoebe - December 22, 2008

I think my kids will love this! Do you have any recommendations on how to keep Wall-E intact if I pack it for their school lunch? I’m thinking plastic wrap and some fillers on top….

annathered - December 24, 2008

Sorry for a late reply to your question, Phoebe. The best way to keep Wall-E sandwich intact is just like Jenna suggested, put it in a bento box, and keep it flat. Try surrounding the empty space with fruits & veggies, so Wall-E doesn’t shift around too much. (His neck might be buried under other food though…) I’ll try to come up with a school lunch friendly way to pack Wall-E sandwich soon!

5. Pavel - December 22, 2008

Wow, that’s really creative. ^^

6. Kelly - December 22, 2008

My son will flip when he sees his lunch tomorrow! Thanks so much for sharing!

7. Mab - December 22, 2008

I just wanted to say I’ve been reading your blog since you started it and the tutorials are so awesome and inspiring and that I’ve made two charabens in the past month. You make everything look so easy, I can’t wait to make a Wall-E in the upcoming days!

8. Wendy Leow - December 22, 2008

thanks! you always make it look so easy!!! i so love this!!

9. Isis - December 23, 2008

I loved!!!!! So beautiful!!!! Congratulations from Brazil.

10. VancityAllie - December 23, 2008

Wow that’s seriously amazing! So cute! Thanks for the tutorial 🙂

11. Cecilia Barroso - December 23, 2008

I knew you blog in a brazilian newspaper.
Congratulations for this wonderful job and thanks for show us how to do it.

12. jenna - December 24, 2008

how to keep wall-e intact: use a bento box!

13. Vicky - December 24, 2008

I can’t believe some people took the how-to without properly crediting you :/ Hopefully they edit their posts.

14. J. F. Toledo - December 28, 2008

I have tried to make a Wall-E-wich like yours. I took some pictures and posted here. My wife loved it.
Thank you for sharing your art!

15. athena K - December 30, 2008

Thank you for this post… amazing artwork, sketches make it all the more amazing! You’ve truly taken urban art to another level.

16. ivana - January 2, 2009

this is totes adorbs!

17. Lena Sofia - January 25, 2009

I love your bentos! Thanks for sharing!

18. Heather - January 25, 2009

Thanks for sharing! I am going to link to this from http://www.littlenummies.net

Thanks!
Heather

19. Ashley - January 25, 2009

Awesome!!! Thank you sooo much. My kids are going to eat this up:)

20. Natsuko - February 2, 2009

As a Wall-E ( and EVE! ) addict, I’ll bring this for lunch @ work. Really.

I’ll show this to my parents in Yokohama, Japan who just seen the movie and became big fan like I am.

Thank you so much (^.^)/~

21. OpKode - February 5, 2009

I will be making this for my boyfriend 😀

22. Fiona - February 19, 2009

Love it…thank you so much for sharing!!

23. SL - March 12, 2009

You’re truly a creative artist! My 4 year old son will love this. He will start school in August and I’m looking for ideas for his daily bento lunches. Thank you so much for your inspirational ideas and please keep it up!

24. Onique - May 18, 2009

You are amazing, Anna! Love your creativity and thank you for sharing the step by step tutorials. I am a fan of Wall E and Eve – made this for my bf’s birthday and he just love it. Thank You ^-^

25. aamora - May 18, 2009

omg this is amazing i cant wait tog o home and try it cuz im at school right now im going to make it for my little sisters…….and cuzins their going to love it thanks….

26. im - August 6, 2009

very cute…can’t wait to make it for my 3 yr old! he is a BIG fan of wall-e. i’m afraid he might not want to eat it thought. LOL

27. Traci - August 9, 2009

My 5 year old refused to eat it. He licked a blueberry half and then started crying and put it back. LMAO! It’s pretty cute, though!

28. cha22 - August 16, 2009

wow.. its delicious !!!! im lovent it


Leave a comment